Our Eclectic Little Nest

Our first home has been a formidable opponent.  After months of remodeling, landscaping, and desperately looking for furnishings and decor that I daydreamed and then had to have…we are nearly finished with stage one of the house.  I say stage one, because I quickly learned that it will never end…I’m already daydreaming new things and envisioning different design…it has only just begun.  Man, its fun.

Image

The house was built in 1953, so I wanted to design with a throwback to mid-century modern style.  I love that era…so cool, so chic, graphic, colorful, eclectic, visually interesting.  We purchased several of vintage pieces from Mid Century Salvage http://www.midcenturysalvage.com/index.html.  They are amazing, and I keep going back for more…I actually just scored an amazing headboard and new desk for my office two weeks ago.

Image

 

Image

 

A lot of what we did (more photos to come) was DIY and a total gamble, but I adore the way it all turned out.  Its a great space for relaxation and entertaining.  We love it so much, we actually hosted 60 of our closest friends and family in our backyard for our wedding.

Image

Image

 

Image

 

It was an incredibly special day…and each time that I water the plants, or enjoy a glass of wine in the back yard I see and hear glimpses of the day, our precious families, and the awesome party/karaoke-off that ensued during the reception 🙂Image

 

Here’s to decorating with reckless abandon, not being afraid of color or mixing/matching, the celebrations in live, and home sweet home.  Cheers!

 

 

Leave a comment